Posted by: Dennie | August 30, 2012

Today’s Topic: Attitude

“Change your thoughts and you change your world.”  Norman Vincent Peale

Sometimes I tend to forget the idea that “there are no coincidences,”  and it’s usually at a time when I most need to remember, that it hits me upside the head.

This morning was a perfect example. I’ve been trying hard to accept the passing of summer and the onset of autumn. But I’m a summer girl and love everything about it, including the heat. So at six this morning, when the temperature on my phone read 48 degrees, it sent me into a funk before I had even climbed out of bed. I stumbled and grumbled as I went downstairs to get a cup of coffee. 

“I can’t wait to get out of here,” I told myself. “I want to move to the Carolinas.”

It was early enough that I didn’t  have to rush to get ready for work , and I was able to take the time  to have coffee and read a couple of meditations from two of my books.

The first reading was about finding good in situations, experiences and people–that it’s there if we just look for it. The reading went on to say that we create our own personal environment, and  at any moment, we have the power to change our perspective on life. Okay. I’ve spent enough time in recovery to know that’s true. However, doing it is another story. It takes a lot of work and mental exercise to change my attitude, and sometimes, honestly, I really don’t want to. Sometimes I’d rather pout and act like a six-year-old, rather than my true age of fifty-six, although if someone calls me on that, I get pissed. But I’m a “work in progress” as they say, and will occasionally use that as an excuse to stay in my shit.

After briefly mulling over my first reading, I moved on to the second. This one was about gratitude. The author was in a miserable place, so she listed all the crap that was upsetting her, then put the list away. A few days later, in a better mental state, she made a gratitude list. It was suggested she go back and compare the two for similarities and differences. Surprise–the gripe list she had made was parallel to the gratitude list.  The difference was her mindset. Over a few days, she had reconciled the differences she had with her circumstances and the only thing that had changed was her attitude.

“If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.” Wayne Dyer.

I’m not always going to  look at things in a positive way.   But I can make the choice of  how I perceive my world in an effort to move toward an emotionally balanced place. Accepting autumn is a good place to begin.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

