Posted by: Dennie | July 10, 2013

I Am A Warrior

I Am A Warrior

…rather, a Warrior-In-Training. On September 21, I will be in Thompson, Connecticut to compete in my first Warrior Dash. The event will take place two months and two days after my fifty-seventh birthday and I am really excited. A little nervous, but excited.

I love to read, but like writing, I have trouble making enough time for either. Last summer I attended my favorite annual book sale, but many of my purchases remain in the box in which I brought them home. They sit in my basement laundry room, waiting patiently, silently beckoning  as I wash and dry, sort and fold.  A few weeks ago, I sifted through the box and pulled out a small paperback entitled, “What Would You Do If You Had No Fear?” I remember purchasing it not only for the title, but also because the forward was written by Anne Lamott, a writer who was recommended to me years ago by a real, live literary agent, a woman I had the fortune of knowing through my friend, her daughter.    I have since purchased a number of Lamott’s books, but they also, are waiting to be read. I brought the “Fear” book upstairs and it sat on my desk until this week, when the title question finally prompted me to look inside. Lamott’s forward speaks of the inspiration she has received from this little book and how she is “doing things now she never would have thought possible.”  While I have yet read fewer than five chapters, the book has given me an idea,  a push, not only to write, but to stretch and expand myself-to test my boundaries and limitations.

So here I am, training to become a Warrior, in the physical sense, while at the same time attempting to use that Warrior mentality to shed an unfounded fear of writing, a fear that has kept me immobilized for  too long, and plunge ahead, if not somewhat blindly, and explore my possibilities.

I plan to use the questions in this little book to help guide me to stay focused and on track, and give this blog, and me, a sense of purpose.

Responses

  1. I’ve never thought of you as having any fear. You’ve got this. Keep up the reading and the writing. Love, Your #1 Fan

  2. You ARE a true warrior.Keep training,,Keep writing,& Stop beating yourself up.Your’e a winner


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

