Posted by: Dennie | July 13, 2013

I’ve Reached My Goal!!!!

This morning I decided to make my new motto “Keep Reaching.”  New  motto!!! Who am I kidding? I don’t have  an old motto, nor have I ever had a motto for that matter…(Motto-what a strange word.)

Anyway, as some of you may know, the impetus behind this blog is a little book by Diane Conway entitled “What Would You Do If You Had No Fear?”  It’s given me the shove to do stuff I’m scared to try-namely writing this blog on a very regular basis and….competing in my first Warrior Dash.

When a couple of friends and I signed up for this insanity last month, I decided, purely for selfish motives, to attempt to raise three hundred dollars. If reached, the goal would allow me the luxury of a hot shower after the muddy race. The idea appealed to me immensely, as the location is three hours from where I live and I couldn’t imagine driving that distance back home covered in mud and muck. I can guarantee that my husband wouldn’t relish the idea of his mucky wife sitting in his clean car either.

Much to my surprise, people came through for me like gangbusters and it took less than a week to raise that money. But the biggest surprise is the excitement and good feeling I have about doing it. Not surprising is my inherent and warped tendency to want–like the AT& T kid says–“more, more, I want some more.” I want to raise more money. But now it’s not about me. Raising additional funds will help the hospital, and the kids. That’s what I want.

So while my event web page says my goal has been met, I want to keep reaching. I’m gonna go for five hundred, and if I reach that, eight hundred, or  maybe a thousand.

The sky’s the limit. This little lesson has taught me the sky is there not only for fundraising, but for whatever it is I might strive to attain. Wow.

I’m on my way.

Responses

  1. Believe in yourself and keep working as hard as you have been and you will attain your goals.This is a great cause.

  2. That’s incredible, well done! More than on your way 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

