Posted by: Dennie | July 18, 2013

One Day At A Time

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned in recovery is to take things one day at a time. It’s been a difficult process as the old me was constantly projecting–thinking, planning, worrying about getting things done, and quickly. Or I was re-living yesterday and what I hadn’t done well. I’ve come to understand that when I’m not in the moment or  the day, I’m missing what’s happening around me. I’m squandering the gift of the present–wasting it on something I usually have no control over or cannot change.

I was inspired this week by a post in Lightning Droplets. She challenged herself with what she called a”Submission Bonanza” –submitting work to THIRTY literary magazines in THIRTY DAYS!   To rack up rejections!  Holy crap. That is a ton of work and volumes of writing. Last week, I received my first rejection letter for my very first query, and the time, effort and energy it took just to compose the letter for submission almost sent me to the sanitarium. It was hours of writing, re-writing, editing and worrying. I wanted it to be just right, even though I expected to have it rejected because nobody gets it the first time. Do they?

The rejection didn’t discourage me. I have every intention of sending in more submissions but I have trouble coming up with topics. I need to research more magazines, so I can figure out where to send my next query, and the next, and the one after that. So the 30 in 30 planted a little seed in my head. Maybe I could do that too. If I don’t start sending in queries, nothing’s going to happen, and I’m here because I love to write, but I would also like to eventually make some money, too. Before I knew it, my head was flying….” finish reading  Writer’s Market,”  get to the library for magazines, get some on-line subscriptions, get, get, get, do, do do.” Whoa, whoa, whoa.  I had instantaneously reverted back to my old self,  thinking about getting everything done, right now.

I am a visual learner, and when I first came into recovery, I heard this: You walked ten miles into the woods, you have to walk ten miles to get back out. My foggy little brain somehow understood that this recovery thing was going to take time. That I was messed up, and there was no quick fix for me. It was going to have to be a slow, arduous process of one day at a time. And that’s what my writing will be. I can’t do it all in one week, one month. Maybe by next year, I’ll have something published. Make a few dollars. Hopefully it will happen sooner than later. And when I take a closer look at Droplets, I see her archives go back to January of 2012. Eighteen months. I don’t even have eighteen days. This is like starting recovery all over again. But if I continue to read and take instruction from others who have been there and have more time and experience than me, then I, too will find my way. And  who knows, maybe I’ll do a 30 in 30.

Responses

  1. I love this post. I have been thinking a lot lately about the idea that people overestimate what they can accomplish in one day and underestimate what they do in a year (that’s not my idea, but a paraphrase of a quote I heard recently). I know I am completely guilty of this. Your post reminded me to be mindful of this. Keep at it and you’ll be doing 30 in 30 in no time!

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence….I’m absolutely loving this and am really psyched….

  2. There is no doubt in my mind that you WILL do this.I’m really happy for you
    keep writing


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

