Posted by: Dennie | August 9, 2013

Writing for Publication

Writing a blog is one thing. Writing for a publication is another.

My blog began as a tool  to help me get into the habit of writing on a regular basis, preferably every day. I wanted it to help me get over the fear of not being able to write. And it has helped. To an extent. I was stuck  for two days earlier this week and the idea is waiting as draft until I can figure it out. Those two days depressed me and freaked me out. I thought I was done. But yesterday’s post flowed effortlessly. And I relaxed. A bit.

I hate roller coasters. And this is worse than riding a roller coaster.

I  was motivated to start writing again when I took an online course last spring. It was only six weeks but it was the kick start I needed to get going. It pushed me to move toward my goal of freelancing for magazines. And this weekend, if I can get it all together, I’ll send out my first query. To a major publication. Gulp. And that query will follow with at least two more.  To major publications.

I’m shooting for the moon. “Start small,” the instructor of the course said. “Don’t even think about those glossy national magazines. Get your feet wet. Accumulate some clips to present.” In other words, crawl before you walk.

Never one to listen very well to instruction, I’m not crawling. I’M RUNNING. IN A MARATHON.  And I’m not afraid.

This woman is nuts, you might say, and maybe I am. But I have something. A couple of things, in fact, that I believe are in my favor and may make me an exception to the rule.

The first is the topic. It’s one worthy of national attention, and has, in fact, received national attention. Global, actually. But until this comes to fruition, I don’t think it’s a good idea to reveal any more than that.

The second thing in my favor is a literary agent. A very well known literary agent, that I had great fortune to have come to know through her daughter, many years ago. Her services are highly sought and she’s extremely busy. We are not friends. It was four years ago last April since I’d been in touch with her. But she is kind, and maybe feels some compassion for a fledgling writer like me, because when I contacted her about this last week, she responded immediately and gave me some direction. In  an April ’09 email,  (that I’ve kept as inspiration) she told me  that I can write. And I write well. Did I believe her? Yes. I had no reason to think she was BS-ing me and she would have no reason to do so. But did I believe in myself? Nope.

But I do now.

And I have a topic that I also believe will get editor’s attention.

So my little slingshot is ready and when that moon is full, I’ll be taking my best shot.

Responses

  1. Well this is great article , I think this is excellent piece of work by the writer and i believe that to read this topic a lot of visitors will visit this blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

