Posted by: Dennie | August 18, 2013

Writing and Recipes

I’ve been away and writing away from home was not as easy as I’d thought.

My husband and I have been gone since Thursday to celebrate the marriage of his youngest son. He and his new wife had planned what seems to be the current trend among “youngsters” these days–a destination wedding. We were fortunate that the location they chose was accessible by car, a mere three hour drive, as opposed to a flight to the Cayman Islands, Bora Bora, or some other exclusive, exotic, expensive beach resort halfway around the world.

But still.

Traveling requires bringing stuff. Not wanting to stray from the nightly writing routine I’d established, I lugged my six pound laptop along in my suitcase. But did I write one single word? No. I did not.  Dinners, family and the wedding packed the weekend hours.  Neither did I write one single word when we came home last night.

I made a cake instead.

As I was baking, I came to a realization.

Writing is like following a recipe.

There needs to be an order, or it just doesn’t make sense.

Whenever I get ready to write a new post, my thoughts are all over the place.  Like the ingredients in a recipe, they need to be gathered before I begin.   The order in which they are added is crucial. A forgotten ingredient can be disastrous.

A misspelled word or irrelevant thought can change an entire message.

My writing needs to be methodical and meticulous. Orderly and precise. Like baking.

The frosting for the cake could have been a bomb. Although I looked at the directions half a dozen times, it was when my husband read them that I realized I hadn’t followed the order at all. I  melted two ingredients separately rather than together, as specified.

It was an easy fix. But still, a mistake.

Some mistakes can’t be fixed. I can only hope those I make have more to do with my recipes than my writing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

