Posted by: Dennie | August 26, 2013

Pain Is Inevitable, Suffering Is Optional

“I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable…but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.  Agatha Christie

I had a crap day today. Nothing went smoothly. Not one single thing.

I’m not going to sit here and expound on everything that irritated, annoyed and downright p’d me off. But a lot of stuff did.

I hate days like today. Especially when they happen on a Monday. It’s not the best way to begin a week.

So what can I do about it? Nothing. Not now. It’s 9:27 pm and the day is over. Do I want to wallow in the garbage that went on? Not really.

I have a choice.

I can chalk it up as a crappy day and let it go at that. I get to start again tomorrow.

Or, I can feel sorry for myself for having a job that sometimes is a pain in the butt. Dealing with idiots. And set myself up for a lousy week ahead.

I can’t control how my days or weeks will go. But I can control my reactions to them.

Tonight I’m grateful to be in a place of acceptance, rather than a place of resistance. It took a lot  to pull myself out of my fowl mood this afternoon and move forward.

But I did.  After work I went to the gym and met the girls who will compete with me in the Warrior Dash . We have only twenty-six days until the event and this afternoon we got out butts kicked by the trainers who are helping us move toward our goals. The workout was tough. It hurt. My friend barfed.

But I left the gym feeling better. Mentally. Which for me is sometimes more important that feeling good physically.

When I got home, my husband had a nice dinner ready for me, as he does every single night, and we ate, and talked. And I felt even better.

I have stuff going on. Some of it is a little scary. And some days the emotional pain and worry  get to me.  Some days I suffer.

But suffering is optional. I need to remember that.

Yesterday, a car in front of us displayed a bumper sticker that announced “The meaning of life is to live it.”

Pain or not, I’m getting on with the business of living my life.

Even if I have a crappy Monday.

Responses

  1. Good for you ~ when you feel like you are going through hell, keep walking! Even if it’s only baby steps. Tomorrow is another day! Big hugs to you. ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

