Posted by: Dennie | August 29, 2013

Pushing My Limits

The Warrior Dash is coming.

Soon.

September 21.

A bunch of us girls will be there looking like the photos in the link above.

And I am not afraid.

I will be ready.

Suddenly, my life has become full of challenges. Well, not full, really. I have two. Maybe three. But for someone–me–who has never been one to meet a challenge head on–three at once is a lot.

The Dash will  be a true test of my physical capability. I expect that it will challenge my mental and emotional capacity as well.

Training for the event at the gym  has been a challenge in itself. I’m up many mornings at or before five to get to the gym, and with the days getting shorter now, that is no easy feat for me.

If I’m not there before 5 am, then it’s after 4 pm. It has been nothing but work, work, work.

It’s making me very tired.

And then, there’s my writing. My blog.

This little baby right here has been a challenge that has not physically but  mentally, spiritually and emotionally,  pushed me just as much, if not more, than training for this upcoming obstacle course race.

Writing presents obstacles for me every single time I switch on the computer.

What am I going to write about?

How will I make it interesting?

Am I spelling everything correctly?

What about grammar, punctuation and dangling participles?

I have no idea what a dangling participle is. But I hope if it’s supposed to dangle, I’m allowing it to do so.

And this blog is making me tired as well.

Up until all hours of the night struggling-some nights more than others-to get the right words in the right order right  here on this page.

But for someone–me–who has never been one to meet a challenge head on?

I’m loving every exhausting minute of it all.

Responses

  1. That’s exactly how I feel about my blog! Well said! 🙂

  2. You’re doing a great job.I’m proud of you

    • Thanks! You inspire me to do better….


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

it is what it is

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

