Posted by: Dennie | November 2, 2013

A Day With Myself

I woke up this morning with a slammer headache and a stiff neck. Took a couple of Excedrin Migraine with a cup of coffee and hope it goes away soon because I had big plans for today.

I have a date. With me.

Years ago I started  Julia Cameron‘s The Artist’s Way Workbook. I recently pulled it out from the cubby where it had been shoved along with other writing books and it’s been on the floor next to my bed for weeks. Maybe I thought I could retrieve some of it through osmosis, but I’m sure that didn’t work.  I hadn’t opened it until this morning, when I looked for the part where Julia recommends having an “artist’s date.”  She refers to it as “a festive undertaking to explore something that excites or interests us.”

I can’t remember the last time I had a date with myself. And it’s all my husband’s fault. Working five days a week leaves me only Saturday and Sunday with which to have a festive undertaking. And there isn’t anyone I would rather festively undertake with than my man.  Exciting? Yes. Interesting? Yes. I never know what’s going to come out of his mouth. He makes me laugh. He also pisses me off, but there is no one I’d rather be with. I love spending my free time with him and never get enough. Sound corny? I don’t care. I waited a long time for him, and at fifty-seven years old and only  eleven plus years of marriage, I take advantage of every minute.

But he’s away today. Off on his own little jaunt.  And I have the entire day to do with what I will.  I’m excited because these days, unlike those of my previous life, I like myself, and enjoy spending time alone. Not that I’d want it all the time, but sometimes it’s  good.

My headache is beginning to go away, the sun is rising up over the hill behind my house and the day is waiting for me.

I will feed my birds and do a few things around the house then later, when it’s a bit warmer outside, I’m going to drive over to the next state to a gigantic flea market. It’s a combination of junk and antiques held in an enormous field out in the middle of nowhere. I’m going to search for treasures. Maybe I’ll find myself a piece of jewelry. Or a huge platter for the cakes I make when my AA friends celebrate an anniversary. There’s usually a vendor there that sells the hair goop I use at a price less than I pay in Bed and Bath. Maybe a new purse. I’m bringing a few bucks with me and if I find something I want, I’m going to treat myself.

A date with me. It’s going to be a great day.

Responses

  1. I understand~

    • While it wasn’t as good as I hoped, I still enjoyed myself….happy to have my husband home tonight…..

  2. Enjoy your day 🙂

    • The flea market was disappointing….they changed the set-up, there weren’t as many antiques dealers and it seemed really unorganized. But I did buy a few things and enjoyed myself in spite of it…..Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

