Posted by: Dennie | November 21, 2013

The Thank-less “Thank-You” Note

thank you note for every language

A  few months ago  I received a “thank you” note so ridiculous that  I  knew I needed to save it for a future blog topic. Then  I promptly forgot about it until a few days ago when  I was sifting through my unending piles of paperwork. I’m a paper hoarder.  I print and save all kinds of  useful information which I know I’ll need at some point, but, like the thank you note, I forget about or can’t find when I need it.

But that’s a post for another time.

This “thank you” note. You may notice that I use quotes each time I reference it. That’s because it technically was a thank you, but the insincere, informal and  blatant, impersonal  lazy-ass-ness of the thing just  blew me right into outer space.

Here’s the backstory:

We were invited to a party which was held in celebration of a milestone achievement. Right now, I won’t go into too many details.  But someday, I’m just gonna say “the hell with it” and write whatever I want about whomever I want and if people find out I’m writing about them, I won’t care. Maybe a person’s  behavior will provide an interesting topic. If said behavior is good, polite, considerate or somehow has a positive effect,  they might enjoy being featured in my blog. But if the behavior happens to be boorish and ill-mannered, and I advertise  that I think of it as such, well then, maybe they’ll just hate me forever.  And I won’t care.

But I’m not there yet.

So back to the party. We gave a nice gift to the honoree.  We took  the  time to attend the festivities.  It wasn’t something on our top ten list of things  to do in our precious and fleeting free time, but we are polite and well mannered and usually try to do the right thing.

And after doing the right thing, a few weeks  passed and we receive  the “thank you.”  It was in an envelope addressed to us by our last name.  Only.  Not Mr & Mrs Last Name, or even first names and last name. Just last name. Like this:

Smith

10 Cherry St

Anyplace, USA

And inside this hastily scribbled envelope with only our last name was a prefabricated card. With the name of the party honoree and a pre-printed “Thank you for your generous gift.”

Under the heartfelt message was the hastily scribbled name. And last initial. Like a third grader would sign. “Petey M.”  Petey?  M?  The honoree was not a third grader. As a matter of fact, the honoree was an intelligent young person who has no idea how to properly thank someone for attending  a party given in their honor.

I must be getting old.

I understand this is the age of technology. That younger people need instantaneous communication and information. That everything must be done quickly. With texts, and iPads  and iPhones and whatever else.

But please. A little effort wouldn’t kill them.

The age of technology is rapidly eradicating the art of  written and verbal communication.

Eye contact takes place with iPhones.

Emotion is expressed with  emoticons.

Sentences have been reduced to tweets.

And thank-you notes? I don’t know. I guess I should be happy I received any acknowledgement at all.

Responses

  1. Agreed, D. In a day and age when thank-you notes seem to be ever-diminishing, I still appreciate the act – even if it’s impersonal. At least someone attempted to convey appreciation. 🙂

    • Eric-I’ve not been here for a few days–my blog, I mean. I don’t know where the time is going….so my response is a bit delayed.
      But thank you, as always, for your comment. You’re right, at least the little shit made an attempt.
      You are one I can count on for a like, or a comment. I so enjoy reading others’ blogs in my reader as well as Press This, but the time, the time, the time….
      How do you do it? Are you retired?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

it is what it is

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

