Posted by: Dennie | December 9, 2013

Getting Serious With Queries

Two weekends ago, I met with Carol,  a member of the writer’s group that I’ll soon be joining. I’m a bit in awe of her as she’s had three books published,  writes for magazines and does public speaking. With the exception of me, the other  members of the group are all working on novels and that’s  too lofty of a goal for me now. I’d like to write for magazines. For a couple of reasons. They don’t need as many words and I could use the money sooner rather than later. I’m kidding, sort of, about the words numbers  thing. Anyway,  Carol was happy when I attended the first meeting because she’s the only member who does magazine writing.

She gave me a few things to think about. She asked me what my goals were. (Freelance magazine writing.) She inquired about my blog and what I focused on. (Random stuff.)  I told her that I stress about blogging sometimes as I try to squeeze writing into all the activities that come with everyday life. I want to post regularly, but sometimes just can’t get to it.

Then she asked me a question which took me back a bit.

“Why are you spending time blogging?”

I thought about it for a moment before I answered that I was writing for practice as well as to get into the habit of writing regularly.

Then Carol offered a suggestion. Since I have limited time to write, and I want to freelance for magazines, why not spend less time blogging and more time querying. Why not try to send out one query a week?

That made a lot of sense to me. I’ve been dragging my feet on this and need to get my butt moving.

Is that, you might ask, why we’ve not seen anything here on your blog in the last ten days?

And my answer is no. I’ve not done one query.

But I have good reason! I was working furiously to meet the 12/6 deadline for a writing contest. Every spare minute was spent re-writing, re-reading, revising.  Did I reach the point of what I felt was perfection?

Nope.

Nothing will ever be perfect, but I did the best I could and sent it off.

Let the querying now begin!

I guess my blog has come full circle, because my original intention was to write about writing, which is what this will be (mostly) about from here on in. I’ll let you know how my queries are going, my weekly count, (I’m going to start with one per week so as not to stress too much), my acceptances and my rejections. I’m being positive by putting “acceptances” first!

I’m going to cut back my posts to once a week and I’m thinking Thursdays will probably work best for me since it’s almost the end of the week and I’m generally home on that evening. I may not be able to stick to that commitment until after the holidays are over, but I’ll try.

And don’t count this Thursday-unless a miracle happens there’s no way I’ll get a query out before then. But stranger things have happened. Maybe I’ll get snowed in and have an entire day to write.

So that’s my story, and I’ll stick to it.

Feel free to wish me luck!

 

Responses

  1. Hi Dennie…it’s me. Back from the ‘dead’ but here again. I love that you are taking your writing to the next level. I can’t even begin to tell you how much your support meant to me and I’m so sorry I just left without saying goodbye. I think the past caught up with me and I was just floundering. But I wanted you to know that I’m back…and I’m here to support you as well. Best of luck with the queries. I look forward to hearing about them!

  2. It’s always about choice, D. 🙂

    • It is. And for years I was tormented about making the wrong choice. But no more. Nothing’s written in stone.
      I can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

story blogger

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

