Posted by: Dennie | March 3, 2014

Facebook

I am seriously considering dropping off the face of Facebook. My husband recently de-activated his account as did his niece and I may well follow suit.

It’s not like I have a million friends that I keep in touch with. I don’t even have a hundred, or fifty for that matter. By my own choice. It’s really time-consuming reading all that stuff about everybody else’s life.And I don’t have that much to read. I can’t imagine how people with thousands of “friends” keep up.  And while I’m reading about everybody else, the precious free time I do have gets sucked away into Facebook oblivion.

I’ll admit, when I’m bored, I will sometimes troll around and stalk people, especially those I may not have seen for years and who, for one reason or another, popped into my head…

“Hey, I wonder whatever happened to so and so…”

Then there’s the six degrees of separation thing. It always blows my mind when I find someone who knows someone that I don’t know. It makes me wonder how they know each other.

But why should I care who knows who? Or who has hamburgers for dinner? Or got wasted last night? Yeah, it’s fun and frivolous sometimes, but really, there are much better things I could be, and sometimes, should be, doing.

Like writing in my blog. Or just writing. Or reading. Or washing the kitchen floor.

Not.

I don’t know. I’m going to have to give this some more thought. There would be a few things I’d miss–The David Sheldrick posts, for instance. But more often than not, I won’t  read them because they upset me.

I’d miss keeping up with our friend in South Africa. If not for FB, I wouldn’t have known he authored a book about leopards.

I won’t miss the agonizing posts about abused animals. Or children. Or cancer. Or any other of life’s horrible things.

I will miss keeping up (sort of) with my high school friend….you know who you are. FB is the only way we keep in touch.

And the same for some other old friends. It’s nice to see how they’re doing.

But sometimes, it’s just better not to know other people’s business.

For the most part, I waste too much  time when I get started on Facebook. Before I know it, and hour, or two is shot. I should just take a sabbatical.

I’m just not sure if I can do it.

Maybe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Hail Britannia

Knitting, sewing, & cooking from the wrong side of the pond

Diana Burrell

Freelance magazine writer and author

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

cancer. My way of dealing.

Learning to appreciate the little things, trying to find my faith, putting on a brave face. All while maintaining a sense of humor.

giorge thomas

it is what it is

Quiet Desperation

"I want my place, my own place, my true place in the world. I want my proper sphere, my thing." Nathaniel Hawthorne

枝毛シャンプー|おすすめシャンプー口コミ

Observations and commentary based on a real life non-soap opera.

Turning Pages

You are confined only by the walls you build yourself.

dairyairhead

The adventures of a ditzy English Major thrust into the real world.

Julianne Q Johnson

Pictures and words, a writer's blog.

TheRefugia

Expressing desire , pain , heartache ,love ,passion and ambition through poetry and short stories

HyperReality

A New Kind of Reality

Walking with the Alligators

Speaking for those with no voice~

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Playing Your Hand Right

Showing America how to Live

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

